October 14, 2021

Catholic Medical Association Holds Successful 90th Annual Educational Conference, Congratulates Award Winners

Philadelphia, PA – October 14, 2021—The Catholic Medical Association expresses its sincere gratitude to all involved in making our 90th Annual Educational Conference, The Joy of Medicine, a major success, especially Dr. Thomas McGovern, Conference Chair and Board Member.

Held in Orlando, FL at the Caribe Royale Resort, the Conference brought together more than 570 in-person guests, including physicians, nurses and other health care professionals, distinguished speakers, and representatives from faith and science based organizations from around the country. More than 130 others attended the conference virtually.

“After more than a year of unprecedented challenges navigating the still ongoing COVID-19 crisis, we were incredibly grateful for the opportunity to gather in person and focus on the joy that our vocation as Catholic health care professionals brings to our lives,” said CMA President, Dr. Michael Parker.

“This year, the conference celebrated its 90th year, a particularly monumental milestone,” added Dr. Parker.

In addition to earning CME credits at the conference, attendees had the chance to reminisce on the last 90 years of education and fellowship. Past guests and members submitted old photos and memories which were featured in the conference convention center.

CMA would like to congratulate the members recognized and awarded for their hard work over the last year. 2021 Award winners are listed below, including those from our new expanded Guild Awards Program, which recognizes a strong and meaningful commitment to faith and science among our 114 national guilds.

2021 Award Winners

Distinguished Guardian of the Faith Award

  • Michael Parker, M.D.
  • Jeffrey Berger, M.D.
  • Richard Rowe, M.D.

Evangelium Vitae Award

  • George Delgado, M.D.

St. Luke Award 

  • Baltimore Guild
  • Cincinnati St. Gianna Guild
  • Denver Guild
  • Milwaukee Guild

Pillars Certificate Award

  • Southern Nevada Guild
  • St. Paul & Minneapolis Catholic Physicians Guild
  • Triangle Guild

Outstanding Guild Chaplain Award

  • Rev. Michael DeAscanis, S.T.L., Baltimore Guild

Outstanding Student Section Award

  • Catholic Medial Association at Anschutz Medical Campus

Outstanding Guild Award

  • Catholic Healthcare Professionals of Houston

The Linacre Award

  • Paul Hruz, M.D., Ph.D.

Categorised in: